555 N. Maple Road, Saline, MI 48176 (734) 429-5450 Fax:(734) 944-0600 Mon-Thu 9a-9p Fri-Sat 10a-5p Sun 1p-5p

The Mitten Award was established by the children’s Services Division of the Michigan Library Association in 1999 "to recognize one children's book published in the United States within the calendar year that has captured the attention of children's librarians throughout the State of Michigan for its ability to communicate through literature to its intended audience."

2014 Mitten Award Winner
Mr. Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown

Honor Books:
Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle
Xander's Panda Party by Linda Sue Park
Rufus Goes to School by Kim T. Griswell
Deep in the Sahara by Kelly Cunnane


2013 Mitten Award Winner
Dogs on Duty: Soldiers' Best Friends on the Battlefield and Beyond by Dorothy Hinshaw Patent

Honor Books:
Snakes by Nic Bishop
Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead
Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand


2012 Mitten Award Winner
Breaking Stalin’s Nose by Eugene Yelchin

Honor Books:
Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
Balloons Over Broadway by Melissa Sweet
Wonder by R.J. Palacio


2011 Mitten Award Winner
City Dog, Country Frog by Mo Willems

Honor Books:
Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea
What the Ladybug Heard by Julia Donaldson
Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper
Guyku by Bob Raczka
Candy Bomber by Michael Tunnell

2009 & 2010 (combined year) Mitten Award Winner
The (Mostly) True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

Honor Books:
Operation YES by Sara Lewis Holmes
Birds by Kevin Henkes
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
The Story of Snow: The Science of Winter’s Wonderby Mark Cassino


2008 Mitten Award Winner
Diamond Willow by Helen Frost

Honor Books:
The Gollywhopper Games by Jody Feldman
Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes by Mem Fox
Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls and Other Scary Things by Lenore Look
Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Mostly True Stories of Growing Up Scieszka by Jon Scieszka


2007 Mitten Award Winner
A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban

Honor Books:
No Talking by Andrew Clements
Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R.L. LaFevers
The Wednesday Wars by Gary Schmidt
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

2006 Mitten Award Winner
Rules by Cynthia Lord

Honor Books:
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Clementine by Sara Pennypacker
Counting on Grace by Elizabeth Winthrop

2005 Mitten Award Winner
I Ain't Gonna Paint No More! by Karen Beaumont

Honor Books:
Willow Run by Patricia Reilly Giff
The Liberation of Gabriel King by K.L. Going

2004 Mitten Award Winner
Ida B:--And Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) Save the World by Katherine Hannigan

Honor Books:
The Young Man and the Sea by Rodman Philbrick
Knuffle Bunny by Mo Willems

2003 Mitten Award Winner
Old Cricket by Lisa Wheeler

Honor Books:
Sahara Special by EsmeRajiCodell
The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
G is for Goat by Patricia Polacco

2002 Mitten Award Winner
When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park

Honor Books:
Ruby Holler by Sharon Creech
Same Stuff as Stars by Katherine Paterson
When Marian Sang: The True Recital of Marian Anderson by Pam Munoz Ryan

2001 Mitten Award Winner
Love That Dog by Sharon Creech

Honor Books:
Grandma's Records by Eric Velasquez
The Other Side by Jacqueline Woodson
A Poke in the I: A Collection of Concrete Poems selected by Paul B. Janeczko

2000 Mitten Award Winner
Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

Honor Books:
Olivia by Ian Falconer
One Lighthouse, One Moon by Anita Lobel
So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George

1999 Mitten Award Winner
Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

Honor Books:
Come On, Rain by Karen Hesse
The Hatseller & the Monkeys by Baba Wague Diakite
Red-Eyed Tree Frog by Joy Cowley